Immigrant Youth Committee

Immigrant Youth Committee FY ‘15 – ‘16. Youth Commissioners from L to R:Alex Derhacobian, Sana Sheikholesmai, Kelly Liang, Jennifer Luo & Mila Yoch.


Chair: Kelly Liang Vice-Chair: Jennifer Luo Secretary: Alex Derhacobian Social Media: Sana Sheikholeslami and Mila Yoch


Open to the community and Youth Commission


Current Members

Kelly Liang, Jennifer Luo, Alex Derhacobian, Mila Yoch, and Sana Sheikholeslami



To examine immigrant youth issues within San Mateo County.


Goals of the Subcommittee

  • Providing immigrant youth related trainings and presentations to the Youth Commission.
  • Liaising with existing immigrant youth groups in San Mateo County
  • Attending immigrant youth events in the county as a Youth Commission representative
  • Remaining aware of legislation affecting immigrant youth and bringing it to the Youth Commission. Providing recommendations as needed.

  • Description

    The IYC strives to highlight a sub-community in the county. Our committee emphasizes the immigrant youth perspective through advocacy, legislation, and projects. Annually, the Passion Dedication Determination Immigrant Youth Award is presented to individuals who contribute to their communities. We are currently working on investigating the disproportionality and discrimination in the juvenile justice system through a survey.

Meeting Times

Every 2nd Monday of each month 6:15 – 8:15pm at 700 South Claremont Street, Suite 110, San Mateo

*Newsflash! Updates from the latest meeting

The Passion, Dedication, Determination, Immigrant Youth Award application has been finalized and is being distributed.

Passion, Dedication, and Determination: “The Immigrant Youth Award”

Do you know of an outstanding Immigrant Youth in San Mateo County? Then nominate them for the “Passion, Dedication, and Determination: The Immigrant Youth Award”! The recipient will receive a $500 scholarship*, along with a commendation from the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, and the San Mateo County Youth Commission!

*Or a refurbished laptop

Click here for the 2014 application!.

The 2013 “Passion, Dedication, and Determination: The Immigrant Youth Award” Recipient: Manuel Martinez, Attends Skyline Community College. Nominated by StarVista Employee Sohphia Daniels.

Pictured here from L to R: Commissioner Jennifer Kao, Commissioner Gurjeet Chahal, Star Vista Employee Sophia Daniels, recipient Manuel Martinez, Commissioner Araceli Efigenio, Commissioner Jacqueline, Cortez and Commissioner Zoe Chien.